ILW.COM - the immigration portal Immigration Daily

Home Page

Advanced search

Immigration Daily


Processing times

Immigration forms

Discussion board



Twitter feed

Immigrant Nation


CLE Workshops

Immigration books

Advertise on ILW

VIP Network


Chinese Immig. Daily


Connect to us

Make us Homepage



The leading
immigration law
publisher - over
50000 pages of free

Immigration LLC.

< Back to current issue of Immigration Daily < Back to current issue of Immigrant's Weekly

October 21, 2004



FROM: Byron Zuidema
Regional Administrator

SUBJECT: Region 5 Reorganization

1. Purpose. To inform State Workforce Agencies of updates to the staffing structure of the Regional Office.

2. References. None

3. Links. This Letter is in the Region 5 website archive at:

4. Background. The Employment and Training Administration (ETA) is proceeding with a reorganization of its offices, divisons and units to better serve its customers.

Part of this reoganization is a redeployment of Federal staff involved with foreign labor certification. This function has been transferred from the Regional Offices to the Office of National Programs, Division of Foreign Labor Certification (DFLC). The Division has reorganized its foreign labor certification activities in a new structure intended to eliminate the current Permanent Program backlog and implement the new Program Electronic Review Management (PERM) system. The newly created structure will be Center-based and include all program functions and Federal staff currently residing in ETA Regional Offices. Before the end of calendar year 2004, Federal foreign labor certification staff nationwide will be relocated to two Perm Processing Centers located in Atlanta and Chicago.

The Chicago Perm Processing Center contact information is as follow:

Chicago Perm Processing Center
844 N. Rush St.
12th Floor
Chicago, Illinois 60611

5. Substance. Following is the latest update to the Regional Office staffing structure:

Office of the Regional Administrator (ORA)
Byron Zuidema, Regional Administrator, 312.596.5400
Shawaan Caridine, Management Staff Assistant
Janina Rokiciak, Executive Secretary
Sandy Wilson, Executive Assistant

Office of System Performance (OSP)
Nick Lammers, Regional Director, 312.596.5520
Deborah Irby
Deidre Parker

Division of Workforce Investment (DWI)
Fred Homan, Division Chief, 312.596.5492
John Scott (OSBSU)

One-Stop and Business Services Unit (OSBSU)
Stacy O’Keefe, Supervisor
Shirley Burnett
Ken Casterline
Herb Garcia
Jean Grochowski
Lori Harris

Unemployment Insurance and Reeemployment Services Unit (UIRSU)
Dominic Pavese, Supervisor
Patricia Hernandez
Ray Koch
Gerardo Lara
John Montague
Linda Mulcahey
Barry O’Connell
Richard Skinner
Linda Spitzengel
Steve Weigel
Matthew Withers

Division of State Operations (DSO)
Leslie Matthews, Division Chief, 312.596.5529
Marium Baker
Lynn Bajorek
Cathrine Brooks
Cory Bullock
Alvin Gordon
Robert Hansen
Linda Ortolano
Jim Sawyers
Robert Sumerwell
Hal Tyson
Bob Wilson
Thomas Wilson

Office of Discretionary Programs (ODP)
Larry Greevers, Regional Director, 312.596.5437
Eric Hernandez
Emogene McClure
Ernestine Robles

Division of Discretionary Grants (DDG)
Nola Penn, Division Chief, 312.596.5540

National Emergency Grant Unit (NEGU)
Rochelle Bradley, Supervisor
Montez Ashley
Darryl Shannon
Frank Wilson

Specialty Grant Unit (SGU)
Rose Alvarado, Supervisor
Lillian Acosta-Liszt
Pamela Bouallegue
Doris Crawford
Dixie Henderson
Nicole Hrycyk
John MacLennan
Danielle Pleas
James Pouliot
Clay Webb
Rebekah Woolley

Office of System Support (OSS)
Barry Dale, Regional Director, 312.596.5455
Theresa Marquis

Division of Internal Support (DIS)
Michael Dooman
Joan Steffek

Division of Financial and Performance Management (DFPM)
Tom Coyne, Division Chief, 312.596.5435

Financial Grant Management Unit (FGU)
Beverly Akogu
Thomas DiLisio
Deborah Galloway
Jim Kinney
Tom Ouyang
Dennis Swafford
Nancy Williams

Performance/Reporting Unit (PRU)
Pamela Ayers
Willie Lyles
Cheryl Svee

6. Action Required. State Administrators are requested to share this Letter with appropriate staff and other agencies.

7. Inquiries. Questions or comments concerning the Region 5 reorganization may be directed to Nick Lammers of the Office of System Performance on 312.596.5520; Larry Greevers of the Office of Discretionary Programs on 312.596.5437; or Barry Dale of the Office of System Support on 312.596.5455. Questions or comments about the format of this Letter may be directed to Tom Coyne on 312.596.5435.

8. Attachments. None.

9. Effective Date. October 21, 2004

10. Expiration Date. September 30, 2005